ICC World Cup 2011: Pakistan announce final squad for the mega event

by  |  earlier

0 LIKES UnLike

ICC World Cup 2011: Pakistan announce final squad for the mega event
The Pakistan Cricket Board has announced its 15-member squad for the ICC World Cup which is scheduled to start from 19
February, 2011.
The mega event will be jointly hosted by
There is still some uncertainty as the name of the captain has not been announced by the Board. There were speculations that the Board may not select Shahid Afridi as the skipper for the mega event.
Earlier, Afridi expressed his feelings on the possibility of being sacked from captaincy. He said that his aim has always been to represent his country and give his 100 per cent.
The flamboyant all-rounder said that it was an honour for him to lead his country but if the selectors are not happy with his performance, he would be content with their decision.
There have been some mixed performances by Afridi over the past few months and that has led to criticism over his captaincy. He was not able to win the Twenty20 series against New Zealand in 2010 but was retained as the One Day International captain for
the team against the Kiwis.
On the other hand, Misbah-ul-Haq was named as the Test match captain and he has led the team from the front. The veteran
Many former greats suggested the Misbah should be given the charge of the team for the mega event as he has led the team with confidence in the longest format of the game.
The surprise omission from the squad was of Mohammad Yousuf. The stylish middle-order batsman has been a tremendous performer over the years for his country and is one of the best batsmen the game has ever seen.
The PCB has opted for a combination of youth and experience. Kamran Akmal has finally made it through even though his selection in the team was doubtful.
Spinners will be very handy in subcontinent and realising that, the team has announced several spinners in the team. Apart from Afridi, Saeed Ajmal and Abdur Rehman will be the share the spin bowling role.
Other than these players, the suspended trio of Salman Butt, Mohammad Amir and Mohammad Asif can also be a part of the squad if they are cleared by the International Cricket Council before the start of the World Cup.
Pakistan’s final World Cup squad:, Mohammad Hafeez, Kamran Akmal, Younis Khan, Asad Shafiq, Umar Akmal, Abdul Razzaq, Abdur Rehman, Saeed Ajmal, Shoaib Akhtar, Umar Gul, Wahab Riaz, Sohail Tanveer and Ahmed Shahzad.



Question Stats

Latest activity: earlier.
This question has 0 answers.


Share your knowledge and help people by answering questions.