Giacomo Nizzolo wins final stage and Geraint Thomas takes overall lead in 2011 Bayern-Rundfahrt

by  |  earlier

0 LIKES UnLike

Giacomo Nizzolo wins final stage and Geraint Thomas takes overall lead in 2011 Bayern-Rundfahrt
Leopard Trek team’s Giacomo Nizzolo won the fifth and final stage, while Geraint Thomas took the overall leader’s jersey in 2011 Bayern-Rundfahrt on Sunday, May 29.
The race started in Friedberg and ended at Moosburg. The 22-year-old, Giacomo took the lead from a 94-man group and covered the distance of 162.1 kilometres in 3 hours and 40 minutes.
After winning the stage, Nizzolo said, “Cancellara brought me on Boasson Hagen's wheel 400 meters from the line. There was a curve 200 meters before the finish, and I attacked there. It was a very fast, slightly uphill sprint. I could feel Degenkolb on my
wheel, but I did not allow him to overtake me."
Recently, Nizzolo grabbed the second spot in the fourth stage of Tour of Catalonia and third place in the first stage of Four Days of Dunkirk.
The second stage winner, John Degenkolb of the HTC-Highroad team, and stage one winner Edvald Boasson of Sky-Procycling team, were in second and third place, respectively.
Andre Schulze was in fourth place and overall a race winner, whereas Geraint Thomas was in the eleventh spot.
In the beginning of the race three riders, Jaroslaw Marycz, Michael Albasini and Nicki Sorensen made their first break. Jaroslaw of Saxo Bank-Sungard attacked the peloton and broke away.
After 106.5 kilometres, Edvald Boasson tried his best to take the lead, but Jaroslaw maintained his speed and took a second and third climb ahead of Michael Albasini and Edvald.
Jaroslaw Marycz was in good form and grabbed the only KOM of the day, ahead of Preben Van Hecke and Cesare Benedetti.
In the final kilometres of the race, Marycz was caught by the peloton. A new troop was formed, which included Giacomo Nizzolo, John Degenkolb, Edvald Boasson, Andre Schulze and Grega Bole.
All of them worked closely together, but Nizzolo had a good pair of legs and with the help of his team, he crossed the finish-line first, ahead of other riders.
Geraint Thomas of the Sky team took the lead in overall classification with a timing of 19 hours, 9 minutes and 36 seconds. Nicki Sorensen of Saxo Bank-Sungard was the runner-up and 17 seconds behind Thomas.
Thomas said, "It’s great, I didn’t really expect it coming into the race as we had Eddy and Brad and Christian (Knees) as well - we thought all four of us were capable of winning it and to be in that position is fantastic,”
Michael Albasini of HTC-Highroad was in third place with the difference of 19 seconds and stage winner, Giacomo, grabbed the 93th place with 20 minutes and 10 seconds adrift of the race leader.



Question Stats

Latest activity: earlier.
This question has 0 answers.


Share your knowledge and help people by answering questions.