Cameron Peterson wins fourth stage, Frank Pipp takes overall lead in Joe Martin race – Cycling news

by  |  earlier

0 LIKES UnLike

Cameron Peterson wins fourth stage, Frank Pipp takes overall lead in Joe Martin race – Cycling news
Cameron Peterson of the V Australia team has won the bunch sprint at the fourth and final stage of the Joe Martin Stage race, on Sunday, May 8, 2011.
Cameron took a total of 1 hour, 24 minutes and 55 seconds to cover the distance of 85 kilometres.
During the breakaway, Frank Pipp of the Bissell Pro Cycling team gained enough time and secured second place, while Jeremy Vennell finished third with the difference of 16 seconds. 
Pipp took an overall lead with the timing of 9 hours, 47 minutes and 3 seconds. His team-mate, Jeremy Vennell, was the runner-up, as was four seconds behind Pipp. Cesar Grajales of Real Cyclist team finished third, with the difference of 20 seconds.
Stage one winner, Francisco Mancebo, who also grabbed first position overall in the two stages, slipped into seventh overall, with difference of 1 minute and 7 seconds.
Bissell Directeur Sportiff, Omer Kem, said, “This was the best opportunity to isolate Francisco, We were able to use our GC riders to draw Mancebo out and force him to have to chase by himself until Frank and Jeremy went up the road.”
The first attack came from the group of four riders, as teams Pure Black Racing, V Australia, Kelly Benefit Strategies-OptumHealth and Jay Thomson stepped up the gas. Bissell team went into the race with a group of three cyclists, Jacques-Maynes, Mach and
Vennell. All of them were sitting second, behind Francisco Mancebo in the overall lead. Team-mate Vennell was the last rider to make a dominant move, in the final laps of the race. 
Vennell was joined by other cyclists including his team-mate Frank Pipp, Mike Northey and Mark Langlands. The breakaway also included Mancebo team-mates Cesar Grajales, Peterson, Nick Walker, Sean Sullivan, Ian Holt and Chad Haga.
During the closing lap of the race, Mancebo and his Real Cyclist team-mates chased the other group. The breakaway managed to stay away and gained an roughly one and a half minutes. In the last kilometers of the stage, Peterson crossed the finish line ahead
of his team-mate Pipp and Venell.
In the Women’s category, Emily Kachorek of the MapMyRide Womens Racing team took her first National Racing Calendar (NRC), at the final stage.
Emily Kachorek covered the distance of 85 kilometres in 57 minutes and 36 seconds. Lex Albrecht was in second place, while Modest Vzesniauskaite finished third. Janel Holcomb of Colavita team won the overall classification with the timing of 6 hours, 42
minutes and 44 seconds.



Question Stats

Latest activity: earlier.
This question has 0 answers.


Share your knowledge and help people by answering questions.