YANMAR Racing’s Peter Gilmour shows gratitude to his crew at 2011 Monsoon Cup in Malaysia

by  |  earlier

0 LIKES UnLike

YANMAR Racing’s Peter Gilmour shows gratitude to his crew at 2011 Monsoon Cup in Malaysia
YANMAR Racing, skippered by Australia’s Peter Gilmour, finished fourth at the 2011 Monsoon Cup and fifth in the overall standings of 2011 International Sailing Federation (ISAF) Match Racing World Championship. Despite a low finish, skipper Gilmour thanked
his crew for their participation and the hard work they put into the regatta.
Former five-time ISAF Match Racing World Champion and two-time Monsoon Cup winner, Gilmour, faced Sweden’s Johnie Berntsson, skipper Berntsson Sailing Team, in the semi-final clash, where he lost to the Swede by the score line of 3-2 after a tussling contest.
Following the semi-final defeat, Gilmour was drawn against Denmark’s Jesper Radich of Adrian Lee & Partners in the petit final of the 2011 Monsoon Cup. The Australian could not show any outstanding sailing form in the petit final and tumbled 2-0 down at
the end to clinch fourth position overall in the cup.
Due to a low finish at the 2011 Monsoon Cup in Kuala Terengganu, Malaysia, YANMAR Racing slipped down to fifth podium place in the final ISAF Match Racing World Championship standings. The Swedish team would have secured third place in the 2011 ISAF World
Match Racing Championship, had they earned one win over Rodich in the petit final.
However, Gilmour is satisfied with the team’s performance and showed his gratitude to the crew members at the conclusion of the cup.
Speaking to the local press, the skipper said, “I want to thank my crew Simon Shaw (GBR) mainsheet hand and tactician, Yasuhiro Yaji (JPN) pitman, Kazuhiko Sofuku (JPN) bowman and Thierry Douillard (FRA) head sail trimmer for giving it their all.”
The Swede added, “It’s been an interesting series for us. We have had our chances. Now we just need to bring our game up to the next level because the intensity on the World Match Racing Tour is stepping up and up each year. 2012 is going to be an exciting
year for YANMAR.”
Final standings at the conclusion of 2011 Monsoon Cup standings:
1. Ian Williams (GBR) Team GAC Pindar
2. Johnie Berntsson (SWE) Berntsson Sailing Team
3. Jesper Radich (DEN) Adrian Lee & Partners
4. Peter Gilmour (AUS) YANMAR Racing
5. Will Tiller (NZL) Full Metal Jacket Racing
6. Phil Robertson (NZL) Team China powered by WAKA Racing
7. Bjorn Hansen (SWE) Mekonomen Sailing Team
8. Francesco Bruni (ITA) Bruni Racing
9. Torvar Mirsky (AUS) The Wave Muscat
10. Mathieu Richard (FRA) French Match Racing Team
11. Damien Iehl (FRA) French Match Racing Team
12. Jeremy Koo (MAS) Abdullah Chan / KRT
Overall World Championship Standings are given below:
1. Ian Williams (GBR) Team GAC Pindar - 144 points
2. Francesco Bruni (ITA) Bruni Racing - 112 points
3. Johnie Berntsson (SWE) Berntsson Sailing Team - 106.2 points
4. Torvar Mirsky (AUS) The Wave Muscat - 105.8 points
5. Peter Gilmour (AUS) YANMAR Racing - 102.8 points



Question Stats

Latest activity: earlier.
This question has 0 answers.


Share your knowledge and help people by answering questions.