David Millar bags his first 2012 victory at the Tour de France

by  |  earlier

0 LIKES UnLike

David Millar bags his first 2012 victory at the Tour de France
David Millar of Team Garmin-Sharp had quite a few near misses during the first half of the 2012 season but the cyclist has finally managed to find his winning ways at the Tour de France.
He rode brilliantly during the 226 kilometre stage 12 of the race and proved his dominance at the contest.
Jean-Christophe Peraud of Team AG2R La Mondiale finished almost at the same time and achieved the second spot.
Egoi Martinez De Esteban of Team Euskaltel-Euskadi fell 5 seconds short at the third spot with Cyril Gautier of Team Europcar and Robert Kiserlovski of Team Astana occupying the third and the fourth positions respectively.
Millar grabbed 50 important points by succeeding at the first and the second sprints of the race with Robert Kiserlovski of Team Astana winning the first, second and third mountain of the stage 1.
Cyril Gautier, Peter Sagan, Tejay Van Garderen, Dominik Nerz and Thibaut Pinot were the top five young riders on the day.
"The day worked out perfectly. It's my proudest win since my Tour victory at Béziers in 2002 as winning a road stage is always more emotional than winning a time trial or a prologue," Millar stated. "It's taken our team going through turmoil to bring out the best of me".
Team Garmin-Sharp Sports Director, Allan Peiper was delighted after David’s performance and briefed that he rode like “an old soldier” during the race.
He further added, "It was a very difficult stage as they raced hard from the start, but they knew they would have a chance after the first two climbs once the peloton came back together. There aren't too many tactics after a hard start and long stage like that".
Bradley Wiggins of Team Sky Procycling continued his overall dominance after the stage 12 classifications.
He is leading the category with a good margin of 2 minute and 5 seconds over his compatriot Christopher Froome.
Vincenzo Nibali of Team Liquigas-Cannondale has jumped up to the third spot with the reigning Tour de France champion holding the fourth overall position.
Peter Sagan of Team Liquigas-Cannondale is leading the point’s classifications with a total amount of 254 UCI points to his credit.
Matthew Harley Goss, Andre Greipel, Mark Cavendish and Cadel Evans are holding the next four positions with 198, 181, 129 and a 100 UCI points in the respective order.



Question Stats

Latest activity: earlier.
This question has 0 answers.


Share your knowledge and help people by answering questions.