Christopher Froome wins 17th stage as Cobo Acebo retains overall lead in Vuelta A Espana 2011

by  |  earlier

0 LIKES UnLike

Christopher Froome wins 17th stage as Cobo Acebo retains overall lead in Vuelta A Espana 2011
Sky Procycling team’s Christopher Froome won the 17th stage of Vuelta A Espana 2011 on Wednesday, September 7, as he closed the gap of the race leader Jose Cobo and showed a good performance in the final kilometres with a double attack. Juan Cobo Acebo maintained
his overall leader’s yellow jersey.
The race started in Faustino V and ended in Pena Cabarga. The 26-year-old Froome took a total of 4 hours, 52 minutes and 38 seconds to cover the distance of 212.5 kilometres.
Cobo Acebo was runner-up with 1 second down to Froome and Bauke Mollema of Rabobank Cycling finished third with the difference of 21 seconds.
After finishing the stage, Froome told the media, “It was one of the hardest days on the bicycle of my life. It was the last mountain top finish and both Bradley and myself came into the stage trying to do as much as we could. But as you could see, Cobo
was so strong and he holds the jersey by 13 seconds."
After a few kilometers, the peloton kept matters in check while the group of 20 cyclists got away, including Sylvain Chavanel (Quick Step), Greg van Avermaet (BMC Racing), Oliver Kaisen (Omega Pharma-Lotto) and Guillaume Bonnaford (Ag2r-La Mondiale).
In the first climb the group gained a lead of 2 minute and 50 seconds which was cut to 1 minute and 17 seconds while Montaguti managed to take maximum points. In the second climb, Kaisen tried his luck by launching an attack but was reeled in by his breakaway
Five kilometers remaining, the Garmin-Cervelo rider Dan Martin made a move and jumped clear. He increased his pace and followed the other three cyclists including Amets Txurruka (Euskaltel-Euskadi), Chris Anker Sorensen and Bruseghin.
With the three clicks they managed to gain an advantage of 14 seconds over the peloton. Van Den Broeck launched an attack to take a lead while he was caught. After a few kilometres he again attacked to create difficulty for Wiggins.
However, in the final 2 kilometres, Acebo tried his best to take the stage victory but failed and Froome crossed the finish line ahead of the other cyclists.
Cobo said, "I seriously thought I'd lost the Tour of Spain, I eased up and finally could recover, but the last kilometre went on forever."
Acebo takes the overall lead with a timing of 69 hours, 31 minutes and 41 seconds while Froome was runner-up with 13 seconds and Wiggins finished third with 1 minute and 14 seconds down to the Spaniard.
The next stage will run in Solares and end in Noja as all the cyclists will cover the distance of 169.7 kilometres.



Question Stats

Latest activity: earlier.
This question has 0 answers.


Share your knowledge and help people by answering questions.